FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME BLOGATHON

HAPPY ….TO THE COUCH!!

Today is the seventh anniversary of my blog. Thank you! Thank you! Maven takes a bow!! And thank you for keeping me on your e-mail radar. Ive been on and off the couch sporadically, Im afraid. Life got in the way of, well…Life. I hope to get myself in gear for more writing this year. But you’re here, now. I still love and watch classic films. For my first real foray back on the couch, Im going to celebrate it by presenting other bloggers’ works.

It’s been a while since I’ve been involved in a blogathon. Here are my past glories, hot-linked below: 

         

What I’ve invited bloggers to do was talk about movies they’ve seen umpteen times.

               

Yep. It’s just as simple as that. But perhaps not as simple as that — what draws someone to a movie over and over again. These films are among their favorites and the writers know them like the back of their hand. These are movies they watch practically every time they air…even if they have the DVD.  

I really’d like to thank all the bloggers who chose to participate. There are so many blogathons out there a writer can pick and choose, at will, what they’d like to join. I’m grateful they chose to share their work on my Couch. Now readers, just be forewarned we’re talking about movies we’ve seen umpteen times, so there may be spoilers, okay? Maybe this’ll encourage you to see the movie before you read the essay. Thank You all for reading and writing for CineMaven’s Essays from the Couch.

Wishing you a healthy, peaceful 2022.

So, shall we get to it? Cool. Again, be warned, there might be spoilers throughout. Without further ado I alphabetically present,
THE UMPTEENTH BLOGATHON:

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

THE ADVENTURES OF ROBIN HOOD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

THE APARTMENT

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

ARSENIC & OLD LACE

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

BATTLE OF THE BULGE

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

THE BEST YEARS OF OUR LIVES

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

THE BODYGUARD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

CHRISTMAS IN CONNECTICUT

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

THE CONCORDE: AIRPORT ’79

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

COVER GIRL

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

DESK SET

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

42nd STREET

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

IT’S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

JOHNNY GUITAR

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

PICNIC

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

THE ROARING TWENTIES

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

SEVEN BRIDES FOR SEVEN BRIDES

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

SINCE YOU WENT AWAY

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

STAGECOACH

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Lastly, let me give a special shout-out Jo Gabriels The Last Drive-In where the 500th post for her blog covers a movie which she says “shares the spot of favorite movie in my world alongside ‘Rosemary’s Baby’.” If you haven’t already, please re-visit her write-up on Robert Wise’s 1963 classic: THE HAUNTING.” Click on the banner below:

In case you were wondering, a movie I’ve seen umpteen times, and can see umpteen times more is The Strange Love of Martha Ivers.” Let me get my thoughts together and get back to you on why this movie keeps calling me.

Thanks to all you bloggers who participated, AND thanks to my subscribers for sticking with me…on the Couch.  😉  HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

[  H  O  M  E  ]

______________________________________________________________

 

35 thoughts on “FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME BLOGATHON

  1. Pingback: The Umpteenth Blogathon: Beauty and the Beast (dir. Jean Cocteau, 1946) | nitrateglow

  2. Pingback: JOHNNY GUITAR: Watch it again – and again | Vienna's Classic Hollywood

  3. Pingback: The Umpteenth Blogathon - It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World (1963) — the Story Enthusiast

  4. Hi lovely, Happy Birthday and blogging anniversary… I adore your individual banners for us all they are beautiful and I always feel a special unique touch that makes you know we joined a Cinemaven event. Good to have you back in the blogging universe again and do pop over and join my Wilhelm Scream blogathon if you can be great to have you xxx So happy you back and Yay! https://weegiemidget.wordpress.com/2021/12/27/wilhelm-scream-blogathon-2022/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: FILMS… The Concorde… Airport 1979 (1979) / Airport ’80: The Concorde (1980) – Realweegiemidget Reviews Films TV Books and more

  6. Pingback: Why I’ve Seen “Since You Went Away” Umpteen Times – Taking Up Room

    • Thanks so much for joining my event, Sally. To think that “The Bodyguard” is thirty years old…and I saw it IN THE THEATRE!! Time is a crazy wacky beast. Sure wish Whitney Houston were still here. She was a talented lady. I’m happy you like the posters. I enjoy putting my noggin up to the challenge of coming up with different ideas. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I will definitely stay tuned. I’m trying to get back in to the swim of things in terms of writing. Every blogathon topic might not resonate with me…but I love to see what the blogosphere comes up with.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hey there Paddy!! Yes…you’re in. Hopefully all the links are in place. Thank you for joining in. You are one loyal blogger. What I want to do is print up everyone’s piece so I don’t have to kill myself with eyestrain reading from my phone or laptop. Of course as you mention technology, I have to find out why my printer is not printing after putting in a new cartridge.

      You have a great blog and I’m proud to have you notice mine. Thanks for joining!

      Like

  7. Pingback: 5 Reasons We Can’t Get Enough of ‘Christmas in Connecticut’ | Silver Screenings

  8. Pingback: I Will Always Love You: ‘The Bodyguard’ at 30 – 18 Cinema Lane

  9. Pingback: The joys of watching ‘Picnic’ for the umpteenth time – Watching Forever

Please leave a comment ( No Anonymous Replies Accepted )

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.