TILL DEATH US DO PART BLOGATHON

Love may be a many splendored thing, but when it goes wrong, honey…look out!! Divorce may be the easier, wiser, safer route. But what classic movie fan wants to see a divorce proceeding.

For this blogathon, I’m looking for a few…good… murders.

I’m slowly but surely going through episodes of the classic film podcast: “Any Ladle’s Sweet…” when in Episode 2 their topic: Wives In Peril gave me the brainstorm for my blogathon. Murder takes place in many settings, but with this theme, I’m specifically looking at the bumpy road of MARRIAGE. Husband plots to kill wife; wife plots to kill husband. The reason? Love, lust or money. What else is there? I don’t care if she does it herself, or gets her lover to do it. I don’t care if the plan succeeds or if it falls apart after the fact. I even don’t mind the era. The theme of this blogathon is:

 “How-do-I-kill-thee, let-me-count-the-ways.”

If it ain’t marriage, I can’t use it.

Now there ARE a coupla caveats with this blogathon ~ ( I’ve learned a few things in my foray as host and co~host ) ~ that I hope you’ll agree to:

  • Since I’m going solo (and MUST be a masochist to go this alone) I’m going to publish everyone’s blog post the same day, Monday ~ July 24th. I won’t drip drab it, and stretch it out over a weekend.

* * * * * * * * *

  • I’d like your submission no later than Thursday ~ July 20th. I’m going to spend that weekend putting it all together so please, no stragglers. I’ll be up to my eyeballs in links.

* * * * * * * * *

  • No duplicate entries between bloggers. No work you’ve published already. Pick a different film. There are many.

* * * * * * * * * *

  • Use one of my banners, why don’cha. I spent time and thought creating them for you. Those brain cells are precious when you’re a Baby Boomer.

* * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * *

Here are the banners. Click on them for a fuller view: 

    

Hope these ground rules are a good guide for your participation. Looking forward to seeing your choices. My choice?  Why it’s HISTORY IS MADE AT NIGHT.”

You can post your finished submission here no later than Thursday, July 20th, NYC Brooklyn Time. I won’t be accepting submissions after this date. [ I’ve got socks to darn, dishes to wash, an apartment to straighten up! ]  This post will be closed at midnight morning July 21st. So far we have:

ENTRANTS

“ANNE OF THE THOUSAND DAYS”…………. Cinephiled

“BLUEBEARD’S TEN HONEYMOONS…..……The Motion Pictures

“BODY HEAT” …………………………………. Blog of the Darned

“BLOOD SIMPLE” ……………………………….Top10 Film Lists

“DIABOLIQUE” …………………………………  A Shroud of Thought

“DIAL M FOR MURDER” …………….…….….    Once Upon A Screen

“DOUBLE INDEMNITY” ………………………… Wolffian Classics Movies Digest

“DRAGONWYCK” …………………………..….. Maddy Loves Her Classic Films

“( The ) KISS BEFORE THE MIRROR” ……..….  Dreaming in the Balcony

“MIDNIGHT LACE” …………….……….……..   Life’s Daily Lessons Blog

“MISSISSIPPI MERMAID” ……………………….  Cinematic Scribblings

“MONSIEUR VERDOUX” ………………….….    Brooklyn Outliers

“NIAGARA” ……………………………..……….  Silver Screenings

“NIGHT OF THE HUNTER” ………..…………   Charlene’s Mostly Classic Movie Reviews 

“NOTORIOUS” …………………………………..  Second Sight Cinema

“OSSESSIONE” …………………………………. Moon In Gemini

“( A ) PERFECT MURDER” ………………….       DB Movies Blog

“PLEASE MURDER ME” ……………………….. Midnite Drive-In

“( The ) POSTMAN ALWAYS RINGS TWICE”…  Outspoken & Freckled

“REBECCA” ………………………….………… Wide Screen World

“SUSPICION” ……………………..………..…… F For Films

“SUDDEN FEAR” ……………………………….. Cinema Cities

“( The ) STRANGER”…………………….……… Caftan Woman

“TOO LATE FOR TEARS” ……………….……… Shelly Blog

“( The ) TWO MRS. CARROLLS ………….  Love Letters to Old Hollywood

“UNDERCURRENT” ……………………………. The Stop Button

“UNFAITHFULLY YOURS” …………………….  Anybody Got A Match

[   H O M E  ]

__________________________________________________________________

80 thoughts on “TILL DEATH US DO PART BLOGATHON

  1. You are adventurous winging this alone LOL
    I like this theme👍🏼 With that said, I want to know if I can sign up for “Midnight Lace” with Doris Day and Rex Harrison.
    Thank you for hosting😊

    lifesdailylessonsblog
    lifelessonsweb.me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d like to jump in with ‘Bluebeard’s Ten Honeymoons,’ a 1960 film starring George Sanders. It will be a first-time viewing for me, but I think it fits the bill for this blogathon: Warner Archive’s synopsis says it’s about a serial killer who marries his victims before murdering them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was trying to think of a way that “Two for the Road” might apply — but as vicious as Albert Finney and Audrey Hepburn get with each other in this perfect cinematic view of marriage, I can’t really say there’s actual murder involved, at least not physical murder! So how about “Anne of the Thousand Days” with Richard Burton and Genevieve Bujold? I can’t think of a more blatant case of a husband plotting to murder his wife than Hank #8 getting the entire country involved in the process!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, Hepburn and Finney might’ve wanted each other day, but since there’s no murder, he said in this one, we’ll let Finney and Hepburn live another day ( blogathon ).

      So you really wanna go the historical route? Be my guest Danny. I’m just now thinking about the TCMFF when I was sitting in another theatre when Genevieve Bujold was so close. I love her. Decisions decisions. I’ve got you down for Anne Boleyn. Thanks for joining my blogathon. See ya on the 20th!

      Like

  4. OK, Theresa, you blackmailed me into it. I’d like to take Hitchcock’s STAGE FRIGHT, which I haven’t seen, but I think fits your category. If not, I’ll pick another Hitchcock film that hasn’t been taken.
    Thanks!
    Josh

    Liked by 1 person

    • BLACKMAILED? ( YO! It WORKED?!! Tell me what I did. ) I will not spoil “STAGE FRIGHT” but I might suggest you pick another film. The murder in this Hitchcock film is not really explicit. I can say no more without spoilers. Do you have another film in mind, Joshua?

      Like

      • Who am I to be a strict schoolmarm. I’ll put you down for “SUSPICION.” Cary makes it look awfully suspicious he’s trying to get rid of Joan Fontaine. Sure…go ahead. I’ll need it by the 20th. Thanks again Joshua for joining this murderous brigade.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. It must be a co-inky-dinky. Saturday I checked out “Strangers on a Train” and “Throw Momma from the Train” from my library, with the intention of pairing them for a non-blogathon entry on my blog. If you’ll allow me to pair them, I’ll do it as an entry to your blogathon instead. But since Billy Crystal actually wants to get rid of his EX and not actually his wife, I’ll understand if you disqualify the entry. But if so, I’ll pick something else as I fully intend to still pair those two, blogathon or not.

    Like

    • Hello Quiggy. I like your comparison of “Strangers…” and “Throw Momma From the Train.” You should think about writing that for your own blog and perhaps pick something all together different for my blogathon. Let me know what other choice you might consider.

      Like

      • All the really good choices are taken now… 😦 However, a collection that I bought that just arrived yesterday has one that MIGHT fit the bill. I haven’t watched it yet and I’m not sure exactly what the drawing lines for what is allowed. It’s called “Please Murder Me!” and stars Raymond Burr as an attorney who defends a woman accused of murdering her husband, only to later find out that maybe she actually did it. That’s all I know about it so far. What do you think?

        Like

      • Alright Quiggy, If you want to take the chance…I’ll take the chance with ya. “PLEASE MURDER ME” it is. And look at Raymond Burr playing an attorney before he became Perry Mason. Sure, I’ll put you down for “Please Murder Me.” But listen, there are a lot of good choices left in classic films. Thanks for wanting to participate in my blogathon. See you on Juy 20th. Thanks again!

        Like

      • Well, by “good” I really meant ones I already had or could check out from my library. I didn’t want to have to go buy another DVD to do the blogathon. (Something I’ve done way too often in the past year and a half since I inaugurated this blog…)

        Like

  6. You realize your timing is terrible. That Thursday is the first day of Comic-Con, and the Monday is the Monday after. I plan to be brain dead. And hung over…. But…. I guess if I did it early then it and set it up to post at a certain time, that might work. Do you still have Body Heat? I love that movie, and I’ve been wanting to write about it for a while. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think “BODY HEAT” would be a fine choice. Also drinking and being hung over. Get her done early and send it to me, even if you don’t make it live until the 20th. Then you’ll be done and can go to Comic-Con with a clear conscience. Thanks for joining Chris…and I look forward to your essay. “Body Heat” was one of the best films of the 1980’s. I might even go to prison for Kathleen Turner.

      Like

  7. Terrific idea for a blogathon! And your banner for Sudden Fear has inspired me to claim it for the occasion (it’s one of my favorites of Joan’s movies). My blog is Cinema Cities: cinemacities.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Keisha. I’m so happy you’ll join me and the other bloggers for my blogathon. Poor Joanie, marrying Jack Palance is NEVER a good idea. So the 20th we’ll all see wha’cha think about “SUDDEN FEAR.”

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Helllllllllooo! Thanks for hosting this awesome blogathon! Could I write about The Letter (1940)? It’s a pretty intense film, and I think it fits pretty well in with the theme of this blogathon!

    I write at Anybody Got a Match?:
    anybodygotamatch.wordpress.com
    Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Michaela. It’s a pleasure to have your blog join my merry band of bloggers for this tiptoe through marital mayhem. I’ve put you down for Bogie and Stany. Thanks so much!

      Like

Please leave a comment ( No Anonymous Replies Accepted )

