A CREED GROWS IN BROOKLYN

Yeah yeah, I know the Oscar controversy ( #0SCARSOWHAT? ) but I’m grateful for seeing the good performances that were nominated. Here are two of them:

%22CREED%22 Screen Shot - IV SAOIRSE RONAN ( %22BROOKLYN%22 )
SYLVESTER STALLONE                                    SAOIRSE RONAN

Michael B. Jordan did a fantastic job in the         You leave your friends, family and all you
movie “Creed” but lets not kid ourselves, the      know. You start anew here in America.
heart and soul of the movie is Rocky Balboa.      That’s the basis of the story in “Brooklyn”
He’s an older man now, and not physically         for a young Irish girl having a new begin-
well. And he’s not a punch drunk, down on        ning. Saoirse Ronan plays Eilis and she’s 
his luck palooka. He lives modestly, owning       really wonderful to watch. The girl has 
a restaurant named after the love of his life,        presence and commands attention, in a 
Adrian. He visits his loved ones in the ceme-      nice, polite way, of course. 
tery.
 A troubled young man asks for his help.

    %22CREED%22 Screen Shot - I            %22BROOKLYN%22 Screen Shot - II

                Continued on page 2                                    Continued on page 3

4 thoughts on “A CREED GROWS IN BROOKLYN

  1. I’m getting ready for the Big Night.I’ve been obsessed with the academy awards since I was a youngster and that was more than 50 yrs ago.I’ve seen all the nominees and it looks like my biggest attendance ever.Controversy brings ’em out of the woodwork.I was surprised I enjoyed Creed so much.It was made here in Philly and the gym they used is only blocks from my home.I’m pulling for Sly(local boy makes good)and thought Ms.Ronan was extraordinary in her role.I swear I could tell what she was thinking before she even spoke.Sadly Oscar goes for bells and whistles which means Brie Larson will likely take the award as lead actress.Its all good because she really was super in the part but half of that award belongs to a nine year old boy who received no recognition from the Academy.Happy Oscars!

    Like

    • I’m STILL a big Oscar watcher. Like you, I’ve been watching the shoe since I saw Sidney Poitier and Julie Christie win their Academy Awards. I’ve hardly scratched the surface of watching the nominees’ films this year. ( Ugh! ) But that doesn’t stop me from making my predictions. I sort of didn’t know what to expect of “Creed.” I enjoyed it a lot. Yeah…I’m pulling for Sly too. I get it about the bells and whistles. I heard “The Room” was good but disturbing. No recognition for the kid? #ALLCHILDACTORS,ATTER! I’m rooting for my girl: Charlotte Rampling. She was so good in “45 Years.”

      MY Oscar tradition? Haagen-Dazs and lights out to watch it all in the dark. Thanks for reading, Bob.

      Like

Please leave a comment ( No Anonymous Replies Accepted )

